official sponsors
crossfit philly
clif bar
2 mile surf shop

Home & Current News   Old News (pre 2008)

Harbison Captures Wanderer One-Miler

Event name:

Wissahickon Wanderers 1 mile run


April 6, 2002


Chestnut Hill Academy


1 mile

View the photo gallery here.

Chris Moore set the early pace followed by Luke Tilley and Jeff Harbison.
Jeff Harbison proved that his victory in the Midnight Sun Marathon last summer was no fluke by winning the inaugural Wissahickon Wanderers one-mile run on April 6 at the Chestnut Hill Relays.

Jeff blistered the final lap to overtake pace setters Luke Tilley and Chris Moore to win the race in a time of 5:31.6. Jeff had traveled to the Arctic Circle last July to win his first road race at the Midnight Sun Marathon in Baffin Island. His next victory came much closer to home in Chestnut Hill.

Jeff with a furious finish crosses the finish line first with Luke and Chris following.

Luke and Chris broke out early in the race and set a fast pace over the first three laps with Jeff cruising in third place. Mike Branca, coming off a strong winter stair climbing season, looked strong in fourth, while Rock Steady settled comfortably into last place at the crack of the gun and stayed there for the duration of the race.
As the gun lap sounded, Jeff took off taking Luke and Chris with him until the final turn when he started to pull away.

The Chestnut Hill Relays, organized by CHA track coach and Wanderer Paul Hines, attracted seven schools in its first year. The Wanderers one-mile was the one open event. Much as the performances in this race were impressive, the high schoolers did not have much to worry about. Jeff’s run would have put him in last place in the high school one-mile race, which was won by Brian Kennedy of Malvern High School in a time of 4:52.

Rocks' body language says where's the finish line.
(Photo: Packy Gordon)

Another highlight of the competition was the 4x200 relay race which was won by Chestnut Hill Academy in a school record of 1:34:2.

Wanderers One-Mile Results:

1) J. Harbison 5:31:6
2) L. Tilley 5:36:5
3) C. Moore 5:40:8
4) M. Branca 6:08:5
5) R. Steady 6:10:8






Additional reports and news stories

© Copyright 2001-2008
wissahickon wanderers
running club